15 October 2012 05:43 AM | By Francis Whittaker and Tom Phillips
The European Union Wins Nobel Peace Prize

Nelson Mandela & Frederik Willem de Klerk (1993)

Nelson Mandela & Frederik Willem de Klerk (1993) (© Getty Images/David Levenson)
  • Yasser Arafat, Shimon Peres and Yitzhak Rabin (© Getty Images)
  • Nelson Mandela & Frederik Willem de Klerk (1993) (© Getty Images/David Levenson)
  • Aung San Suu Kyi (1991) (© Getty Images/Soe Tan Whin)
  • Mikhail Gorbachev (1990) (© Getty Images/Georges DeKeerle)
  • Tenzin Gyatso,14th Dalai Lama (1989) (© Getty Images/Gustave Caballero)
  • Elie Wiesel (1986) (© Getty Images/Henry S. Dziekan III)
  • Desmond Tutu (1984) (© Reuters/Mike Hutchings)
  • Lech Wałęsa (1983) (© Getty Images/Dan Hogan)
Getty Images/David LevensonShow Thumbnails
Previous9 of 27Next
Share this Gallery

Nelson Mandela won the Nobel Peace Prize in 1993 alongside his then-deputy and South Africa's last apartheid era leader F.W. de Klerk. They were commended "for their work for the peaceful termination of the apartheid regime, and for laying the foundations for a new democratic South Africa".

Download Skype

news features

  • What not to say to a grieving person

    Grief is a part of life - everyone will experience it some time, and it will come in various forms, from losing a pet to losing a parent or child.

  • Reasons for Grabouw riots

    There are several reasons for the continuing violence in Grabouw in the Western Cape.

  • TB Joshua: Who is he?

    Temitope Balogun Joshua is under pressure following the collapse of a building belonging to his The Synagogue, Church of All Nations on Friday, a disaster in which 70 people had been killed.

  • Legends no longer protect sacred lake

    Lake Fundudzi has been surrounded by legends for centuries, and this has been a protection of sorts for the lake, shielding it from exploitation and sedimentation. Now, however, the site is in danger.

  • What next for MH370?

    After six months, there is still no sign of missing Malaysia Airlines flight 370.